Truths & Rights

Protoje had been hinting that new music was coming our way for a while and this week he finally fulfilled his promise. On Tuesday, he tweeted that he would make a link to his new song available on Soundcloud until midnight. Unfortunately, I didn’t see his tweet until the next morning. Mi seh mi did vex! My anger was short-lived though because on Wednesday evening, Diggy went live on Instagram and mi did deh-deh pon mi yiylash. Following the live stream, his new song “Truths & Rights” was made available on Soundcloud. Check it out!

The song was produced by Winta James and is on a riddim that one can’t help but skyank to. At first, it seems simple, but there are so many things happening that each time I listen to it, I hear something new. For example, it wasn’t until my 20th time listening that I noticed a group of people having a discussion in the background of the intro. Mi nuh know a how mi did miss dat! Then there is the trumpet solo at the end that seal di message while adding nice flare to the song. Time and time again Winta manages to find the sweet spot between the riddim and the lyrics as through it all,  he makes it clear that the lyrics are the main focus . Big up yuhself every time Winta!

You remember how every time Katz from Courage the Cowardly Dog appeared in the series, he had his own theme song? Well, every time I see Protoje now, I’m going to hear the “Truths & Rights” dub playing in my head. Why? Because the song embodies the musician’s mission. Protoje has been promoting new and young creatives from photographers, to artists, to musicians , to bloggers for as long as I can remember; this song was just his way of letting his fans know that he didn’t plan on stopping any time soon. He will continue to give a voice to those who have the most to say but are constantly overlooked “until the day that his soul takes flight.” Diggy, we hear you loud and clear!

Yes, we know from long time seh Protoje a big bad awtiste, so right now I want to bring some attention to Mortimer.  I first heard him in “Protection” on Ancient Future where he more than proved his vocal abilities with a chilling chorus. In “Truths & Rights” he sings the chorus and parts of the second verse and every time I listen to it, I find myself looking forward to hearing him.  Unnu hear how di man voice sound sweet? Mortimer’s voice is smooth like honey with an underlying hint of raspiness that gives the song an added edge. I’m looking forward to hearing more solo projects from him. Him get di Lexxi Stamp of Approval, him a guh far! 

Well, that’s all for now friends, but hopefully you won’t have to wait long for the next review. That’s right! Protoje says new music from Lila Ike and Sevana will be coming soon and you can rest assured that as dem drop, mahguh let you know weh mi think.

 

KultureShock Logo 3

Leave a comment